IES Wichita Electrical Engineering Scholarship

IES Wichita is pleased to offer a one-year scholarship to an eligible student from the Kansas State University College of Engineering. Each year, this scholarship is awarded to a student who shows potential for future leadership within the lighting industry and the Wichita professional community.

The Scholarship

The award is a grant in the amount of $1,000, paid directly to the KSU financial aid office on behalf of the award recipient. In order to be considered, applications must be received by November 1st. Applications will be reviewed by the IES Wichita leadership committee, and recipient(s) for the following academic year (fall-spring semesters) will be announced in December.


To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, applicants must be enrolled as full-time students in the Architectural Engineering program at Kansas State University for the upcoming academic year. Applicants must have either completed or committed to an internship with a local Wichita engineering or construction firm. Preference is given to applicants who participate in a collegiate or local chapter of the Illuminating Engineering Society. Applicants must have and maintain a minimum 2.75 GPA to remain eligible for the scholarship.


Submissions for the 2020 scholarship are currently closed. Check back for more information after the start of the 2019 fall semester!

Submission Calendar

Submission Deadline: November 1st, 2019
Application Review: November 2019
Recipient Notification: December 2019
Recognition: Recipients will be recognized at an upcoming IES Wichita section meeting.


  • Joshua Marshall (2019)
  • Kristen Graves (2018)